6 Hours last weekend. Securing this years LMP1 Le Mans Series Manufacturers title, Lola partnered with TMG (Toyota Motorsport GmbH) took the title with a round to spare. Rebellion Racing, running a pair of Lola LMP1 cars in this years Le Mans Series celebrated their second overall win of the season in the LMS. The Andrea Belicchi/Jean Christophe Boullion driven Lola-Toyota also finished 4th in the ILMC and final race standings after a titanic race long fight with the OAK Racing Pescarolo cars. The Rebellion Lola-Toyota evidenced its durability by surviving contact and a puncture during the event.

The sister Rebellion Lola-Toyota of Nicolas Prost and Neel Jani was also in the running for overall podium honours until a bizarre problem halted their race. After qualifying the fastest of the petrol powered cars on Saturday, the #12 Lola fought back from a first corner incident to join the fight for 3rd place overall. However, a large piece of artificial trackside turf blocked the air intake of the Lola-Toyota and damaged the gear selection actuator. This necessitated a long pit stop and the car later retired with damage to the alternator as a result of the incident.

Boullion and Belicchi also closed on the Pescarolo Team drivers in the LMS championship and with one round to go at Estoril later this month the gap now stands at just a single point. Rebellion Racing now also lead the LMS Teams championship by two points.

Lola Executive Chairman, Martin Birrane said: "I would like to congratulate Rebellion Racing and TMG on the excellent job done this season. To win the constructors title with one race in hand is a fantastic achievement and will be a significant addition to Lola's 53 year winning history. I wish our customer Rebellion Racing every success with securing the teams and drivers titles at the final race in Portugal later this month."

Aston Martin Racing finished in 9th place at Silverstone in the V12 powered Lola-Aston Martin LMP1. Adrian Fernandez, Harald Primat and Christian Klien brought the car home in the cars first outing of the year. A high speed spin coming on to the Hangar Straight and a subsequent lost wheel were the teams only problems in the six hour race. The team now turn there attentions to the Laguna Seca ALMS race in California this weekend.

In LMP2, the RLR Motorsport team scored more points with a fine 5th placed finish. The Lola-MG LMP2 fought back from a series of engine related problems on Friday and Saturday to claim a tenacious points scoring finish, their fourth in five races.

Warren Hughes started the race from the pitlane after a disrupted morning warm up. The long-time Lola sports car racer completed a superb opening to the race and brought the red, white and blue car back into contention. Barry Gates and Rob Garofall completed a solid race for the RLR team, despite a late race incident that saw Garofall forced to pit after a lost right front wheel.

Pecom Racing challenged for a 4th placed finish in LMP2 in the first half of the 6 hour race yesterday. Mattias Russo had started for the Italian/Argentine team and after a trouble free stint from car owner, Luis Perez Companc, Pierre Kaffer started to move the Judd powered Lola B11/40 through the field.

Sadly, a mid race gearbox problem meant a long stop and the team chose not to return to the race after repairs were made. The team are confident that Estoril will be a strong event for them as they tested extensively at the Potuguese venue earlier in the year.

Lola LMP cars have three races remaining in 2011 and are in the frame for a variety of title successes in the LMS and ALMS. Quick fire races at Laguna Seca (ALMS), Estoril (LMS), Road Atlanta - Petit Le Mans (ILMC/ALMS) and Zhuhai (ILMC), will see Huntingdon designed and built prototypes aiming to add more wins and trophies to seal another successful year of motor sport.

Recently Lola announced plans for a new model, the B12/80 LMP2 cost capped Coupe. This ensures that Lola are to produce an entire range of LMP products to suit current and future LMP teams.

Pos Cl Drivers Team/Car Laps/Gap
1. LMP1 Bourdais/Pagenaud Peugeot 190 laps
2. LMP1 Bernhard/Fassler Audi + 1m29.763s
3. LMP1 Premat/Pla Oak Pescarolo-Judd + 5 laps
4. LMP1 Belicchi/Boullion Rebellion Lola-Toyota + 5 laps
5. LMP1 Lahaye/Moreau/Ragues Oak Pescarolo-Judd + 5 laps
6. LMP1 Collard/Tinseau/Jousse Pescarolo-Judd + 5 laps
7. LMP1 Kristensen/McNish Audi + 6 laps
8. LMP1 Montagny/Sarrazin Peugeot + 9 laps
9. LMP1 Fernandez/Primat/Klien AMR Lola-Aston + 11 laps
10. LMP2 Ojjeh/Kimber-Smith/Lombard Greaves Zytek-Nissan + 12 laps
11. LMP2 Frey/Meichtry/Rostan Race Performance ORECA-Judd + 13 laps
12. LMP2 Kraihamer/Ebbesvik Boutsen ORECA-Nissan + 14 laps
13. LMP2 Newton/Erdos/Collins RML HPD + 14 laps
14. LMP2 Gates/Hughes/Garofall RLR MG Lola-Judd + 19 laps
15. LMP2 Barlesi/da Rocha/Lafargue Oak Pescarolo-Judd + 19 laps
16. LMP2 Mailleux/Ordonez/Vernay Signatech ORECA-Nissan + 20 laps
17. FLM Schultis/Simon/Schell Pegasus FLM + 21 laps
18. FLM Mitchell/Grogor/Kronfli Genoa FLM + 21 laps
19. FLM Marcelli/Ducote/Moro JMB FLM + 22 laps
20. GTE-P Fisichella/Bruni AF Corse Ferrari + 22 laps
21. GTE-P Ortelli/Makowiecki Luxury Ferrari + 23 laps
22. GTE-P Lieb/Lietz Felbermayr Porsche + 23 laps
23. GTE-P Priaulx/Alzen BMW + 23 laps
24. GTE-P Goossens/Holzer Prospeed Porsche + 23 laps
25. LMP2 Leventis/Watts/Kane Strakka HPD + 23 laps
26. GTE-P Farfus/Muller BMW + 23 laps
27. GTE-P Pilet/Henzler IMSA Porsche + 23 laps
28. GTE-P Farnbacher/Simonsen Farnbacher Ferrari + 23 laps
29. GTE-P Bell/Walker JMW Ferrari + 24 laps
30. GTE-P Jakubowski/Beltoise/Marroc Luxury Ferrari + 26 laps
31. GTE-A Narac/Armindo IMSA Porsche + 26 laps
32. GTE-P Hancock/Dolan/Buncombe Jota Aston Martin + 26 laps
33. GTE-A Roda/Long Proton Porsche + 27 laps
34. FLM Hartshorne/Keating/Keen Neil Garner FLM + 28 laps
35. GTE-A Ehret/Lynn/Wills CRS Ferrari + 28 laps
36. GTE-A Bornhauser/Canal/Gardel Larbre Corvette + 28 laps
37. GTE-A Perazzini/Cioci/Lemeret AF Corse Ferrari + 28 laps
38. GTE-A Felbermayr/Ried Felbermayr Porsche + 28 laps
39. GTE-A Krohn/Jonsson/Rugulo Krohn Ferrari + 29 laps
40. GTE-P Rossiter/Mowlem/Wendlinger Jetalliance Lotus + 29 laps
41. GTE-A Giroix/Goethe/Wainwright Gulf Aston Martin + 37 laps
42. GTE-A Hummel/Christodoulou/Quaife CRS Ferrari + 59 laps

Retired/Not classified:
GTE-P Broniszewski/Peter Kessel Ferrari 118 laps
GTE-P Lichtner-Hoyer/Rich/Hansson Jetalliance Lotus 114 laps
LMP2 Companc/Russo/Kaffer Pecom Lola-Judd 103 laps
LMP1 Prost/Jani Rebellion Lola-Toyota 159 laps
GTE-P Melo/Vilander AF Corse Ferrari 92 laps
LMP2 Beche/Thiriet/Firth TDS ORECA-Nissan 23 laps

All pictures Lola Heritage unless otherwise stated.

(Picture couretesy of Peter Collins)